Dr. Lynn is one of the premier researchers in antimatter and materials engineering. His early research resulted in the development of positron (the antiparticle of electrons) beams for research with current research in positron storage at high densities and long periods of time.

His 1988 publication “Interaction of positron beams with surfaces, thin films and interfaces” with P. J. Schultz is one of the seminal publications in the use of antimatter. He was director of the Brookhaven National Laboratory’s Applied Physics division and the Material Sciences division. He has over 470 scholarly publications in positron science and materials science primarily.

Dr. Lynn came to WSU in 1996 as Director of the Center for Materials Research and dual professorships in the Department of Physics and Astronomy and the School of Mechanical and Materials Science. Since that time, Dr. Lynn has been awarded over $26 million in research grants and 11 patents at WSU. He recently was part of a team collaboration on setting a record energy efficiency of CdTe for solar cells.

He is a Fellow in the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2001), Fellow of The American Physical Society (1988), a member of the Washington State Academy of Science (2012), WSU Boeing Chair for Advanced Materials, WSU George and Diane Conniff Distinguished Professor and was named a WSU Regents Professor in 2014. Lynn holds a PhD in Materials Science and Engineering from the University of Utah.