Symposium Archives

2021 CHARGE Conference

Hydrogen in the Pacific Northwest

2020 JCDREAM Symposium Series

Critical Materials in Modern Industrial Technologies & The Importance of Earth-Abundant Alternatives

The 2020 JCDREAM Symposium was cancelled due to COVID-19 and later converted into a virtual event. Session 1 featured Professor Tom Graedel and JCDREAM Director Aaron Feaver.

E-Fuels and Electrocatalysts for Decarbonization of Heavy-Duty Transportation

Session 2 of the Symposium Series featured Dr. Steve Ciatti of PACCAR and Dr. Jean-Sabin McEwen of WSU.

Advancing Education in Critical, Rare, and Abundant Materials in Washington State

Session 3 of the Symposium Series featured Mel Cossette of MatEdU, Ann Avary of the NW Center of Excellence for Marine Manufacturing and Technology, and Dr. Patricia Townsend of WSU.

Building University-Industry Research Partnerships

Session 5 of the Symposium Series featured Brian Kraft of WSU’s Office of Research.

Second Symposium, October, 2018

The 2018 JCDREAM Symposium was held on October 8, 2018 at WSU – Everett.  WA State Representative Norma Smith, and WSU Vice President for Research, Dr. Chris Keane, opened the symposium. Drs. Christian Mailhiot from Sandia, Livermore, Cynthia Powell from PNNL, and many other industrial and academic researchers in the areas of interest related to JCDREAM were present. Also, students from UW, WSU, WWU, and CWU presented posters of JCDREAM relevant research.

Left: VP for Research Chris Keane welcomed the JCDREAM participants to WSU Everett.
Right: Christian Mailhiot, Rep. Norma Smith, David Field, and Ramulu Mamidala

JCDream Symposium, Oct. 3-4, 2016

JCDREAM held its inaugural symposium and brought together researchers and policymakers in the area of “ earth-abundant materials” to discuss the latest developments and trends as well as regional strategies in this area.  Washington State Representative Norma Smith welcomed the participants to the symposium and Dr. Alex King, Director of the Critical Materials Hub in Ames, IA was the keynote speaker.

Left: Rep. Norma Smith offered the welcoming address.
Right: Dr. Alex King, Director of the Critical Materials Institute, gave the Keynote lecture.